Peshawar Zalmi

Team: Peshawar Zalmi
City: Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa
Ground: Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawar
Number of Titles: 1 (2017)

Who Are Peshawar Zalmi?

Peshawar Zalmi are one of the six Pakistan Super League franchises, with this team having regularly featured at the business end of the competition over the past few years. They were founded in 2015 along with the other original clubs and made their bow in 2016 before continuing to compete all the way to the present day.

One of the nicknames of the team is called Khpal Team, although they are more commonly regarded as the Yellow Storm due to the fact that they play in an all-yellow kit. Javed Afridi is the owner of this Pakistan Super League club who have experienced plenty of success.

This is a team who play their home games at Arbab Niaz Stadium and they quickly got a win on the board by claiming the 2017 Pakistan Super League title, with the legendary Inzamam-ul-Haq being the president of the club.

The Pakistan Super League History of Peshawar Zalmi

Peshawar Zalmi have had an eventful history when it comes to competing in the Pakistan Super League. In the first few years of the competition, the Yellow Storm were one of the dominant PSL forces and Zalmi were third in the running during the 2016 season before breaking their duck a year later.

The 2017 campaign saw the team finish top of the regular standings and they then clashed with Quetta Gladiators in the play-offs at the Sharjah Cricket Stadium. It was an exciting tussle against a side who would become a fierce rival and they ended up losing that contest by one run.

However, Peshawar were then able to beat the Karachi Kings in the eliminator which meant another chance to clash with the Gladiators in the final. This time, they were able to enjoy a comprehensive 58 run victory over their opponents to become Pakistan Super League champions.

Since that 2017 victory, Peshawar Zalmi have been knocking on the door when it comes to securing a second title but to no avail. In 2018, the team finished runner-up after making a valiant run all the way through to the final. They overcame Quetta Gladiators and Karachi Kings only to be beaten by Islamabad United by three wickets.

There were also runner-up spots in 2019 and 2021, with Zalmi twice beaten by Quetta in the play-offs despite beating champions Islamabad in 2019. In 2021, Karachi and Islamabad were beaten only for Multan Sultans to claim a victory in the final.

Who Holds the Peshawar Zalmi Records?

Kamran Akmal is a Yellow Storm legend due to the fact that he has scored 1820 runs for Peshawar which comfortably makes him the leading run scorer at the time of writing. He was part of the original Zalmi team in 2016, while Darren Sammy clocked up 691 runs between 2016-2020.

On the bowling side of things, Wahab Riaz has been the leading wicket taker and has been another mainstay of the Peshawar Zalmi team over the past few years. Hasan Ali is another Pakistani player who has starred with the ball.

IPL Betting:
If you're betting on this years IPL , we have a full list of IPL betting sites with Great IPL Offers to reward players who sign up and bet though this site. We also feature Free IPL Betting Tips in our tips feed with associated sign up offers. So if you're looking for opportunities to place risk free bets on the 2024 IPL, the claim now links around the site give you access to all the new customer Claim Offers thanks to our partner betting brands.

© Copyright 2024 Cricket Bet India
Cricket Bet India


Cricket Bet India

Free Bets 15

Cricket Bet India

Tips New

Cricket Bet India

IPL Betting