Perth Scorchers

Team: Perth Scorchers
City: Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Ground: Perth Stadium
Number of Titles: 4

Who Are the Perth Scorchers?

The Perth Scorchers are the most successful team of all time in the BBL with four BBL wins and have been runners up on three more occasions. They are also the current BBL champions beating, statistically, the second most successful team in the BBL, and their close rivals, the Sydney Sixers in the 2022 (BBL11) final.

The Scorchers (also known as “the Scorchies”) play in an orange-coloured kit. They play their home matches at the famous WACA Ground but in 2018 moved its home matches to the newly built Perth Stadium, now known as Optus Stadium, which has a capacity of around 60,000. The franchise is currently coached by former Australian player Adam Voges and captained by, big-hitting batsman, Ashton Turner.

The Scorchers have always had a core group of some of the best T20 players in Australia. In particular their fast-bowling department has always been exceptional, including Andrew Tye, Jhye Richardson, and Jason Behrendorff, who have also been ably supported by Englishman and left-arm swing bowler David Willey, as well as the spin of Brad Hogg and Ashton Agar.

The Marsh brothers (Shaun and Mitch) have long been the backbone of the Scorchers batting line up. Michael Klinger and current coach Adam Voges have also been great servants to the franchise and more recently big hitting Kiwi Colin Munro has been vital to the Scorchers success.

The BBL History of Perth Scorchers

The Perth Scorchers are the most decorated team in BBL history, with four BBL Championship wins, three runners up medals and have finished the group stages in first on a further four occasions.

It was a strong start for the Scorchers in the first two years of the BBL, making it to the final in both years but coming up short on both occasions, losing to the Sydney Sixers firstly and then the Brisbane Heat. Having been finalists in BBL01 and BBL02 this meant the Scorchers qualified for the now defunct Champions League T20. Across the two tournaments, the Scorchers did not perform to the best of their ability, only managing to win one game out of six.

The Scorchers turner it around in BBL03 where they went one step further to win their first ever BBL Title, beating the Hobart Hurricanes comfortably by 39 runs. They then became the first team to win back-to-back championships, winning BBL04 in a rematch of the BBL01 final against the Sydney Sixers in a last ball thriller – the Scorchers ultimately winning by four wickets.

BBL05 was the first year in which the Scorchers did not make it to the final as they fell one stage short in the semi-final to the Melbourne Stars. Again, the Scorchers turned it around, with their most successful year in the Big Bash, finishing the league in first place and then going on to beat the Sydney Sixers for a second time in a BBL final, however this time round it was more comfortable with the Scorchers winning by nine wickets.

Another semi-final elimination in BBL07 was followed by two disappointing years for the Scorchers, as they failed to qualify for the semi-finals for the first time in their history in BBL08 and then again in BBL09.

Usual service resumed for the Scorchers in BBL10 and BBL11, which saw the Scorchers make it to the final in both years yet again. In both finals, the Scorchers came up against rivals the Sydney Sixers. In the BBL10 final, the Scorchers were comfortably beaten by the Sixers by 27 runs, but Scorchers reversed this around in BBL11, beating the Sixers by a huge 79 runs.

Who Holds the Perth Scorchers Records?

It has been the dominance of the Scorchers bowlers of the years that has been the epicentre of their success. Fast bowlers such as Jason Behrendorff and Jhye Richardson have been two of the franchise’s biggest wicket takers with 94 and 73 wickets respectively.

But overall, it is Andrew Tye who has sits above the rest with 116 wickets from 82 matches including the franchises best bowling figures in an innings with five wickets for 23 runs. Tye is the second highest wicket taker in BBL history.

The Marsh brothers are first and third on the highest run scorers list for the Scorchers. Younger brother Mitch is the Scorchers highest ever run scorer with 2,107 runs from 76 innings, whilst Shaun has 1,519 runs from 40 innings.

Current captain Ashton Turner is the second highest run scorer with 1,704 runs and big hitting Kiwi batsmen holds the record for highest individual score in a match in his 114 not out versus the Adelaide Strikers in BBL11.

Check out our free predictions feed for up to date betting tips as the tournament unfolds

IPL Betting:
If you're betting on this years IPL , we have a full list of IPL betting sites with Great IPL Offers to reward players who sign up and bet though this site. We also feature Free IPL Betting Tips in our tips feed with associated sign up offers. So if you're looking for opportunities to place risk free bets on the 2024 IPL, the claim now links around the site give you access to all the new customer Claim Offers thanks to our partner betting brands.

© Copyright 2024 Cricket Bet India
Cricket Bet India


Cricket Bet India

Free Bets 15

Cricket Bet India

Tips New

Cricket Bet India

IPL Betting