Brisbane Heat

Team: Brisbane Heat
City: Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Ground: The Gabba
Number of Titles: 1

Who are the Brisbane Heat?

The Brisbane Heat are the Brisbane and Queensland based franchise of the BBL having been formed in 2011. The Heat typically play in a teal coloured kit and play their home matches at the Brisbane Cricket Ground, which is also known as The Gabba (an iconic Australian cricket ground) and has a capacity of 42,000. The team is currently captained by wicket-keeper Jimmy Peirson and Coached by former Australian international James Seccombe.

The Heat are typically known for being a big hitting team. This is exemplified by the Heat’s former memorable duo of Australian international Chris Lynn and Kiwi Brendon McCullum who previously opened the batting together for the Heat and were given the nickname “the Bash Brothers” as they were two of the most aggressive and biggest hitting batsmen in the whole of cricket. Their playing ranks have also included other famous overseas internationals such as AB de Villiers and Freddie Flintoff.

The BBL History of Brisbane Heat

It started off very brightly for the Brisbane Heat, when they won the second edition of the BBL. The Heat snuck through the group stages having won 4 and loss 4 matches and going through to the semi-finals based on net run-rate. The Heat then caused a big upset beating 1st seed the Melbourne Renegades with Luke Pomersbach hitting a sensational 112 not out.

The Heat then managed to comfortably beat the Perth Scorchers, setting the Scorchers 168 runs to win with Joe Burns top scoring with 43 of 27 balls. In reply, the Scorchers could only muster 133 for the loss of 9 wickets in their 20 overs. Barbadian Kemar Roach was the pick of the bowlers taking 3 wickets for 18 runs, whilst Nathan Hauritz was named man of the match for his 3 overs in which he only conceded 11 runs and also took 3 catches.

However, it is fair to say that since then the Brisbane Heat are a team who have underperformed during their BBL career having finished the group stages in either 7th or 8th (worst and 2nd worst) 4 times. The Heat have only made it beyond the group stages on 2 more occasions since BBL02, in 2016-17, losing in the semi-final and in 2020-21 losing in the challenge final.

Who Holds the Brisbane Heat Records?

The Brisbane Heat boast the highest run scorer in BBL history, that being Chris Lynn. Chris Lynn has played at the Brisbane Heat since the first edition of the BBL and is still currently playing. He’s scored 3,052 runs from 103 innings, including 1 hundred, and also has the most sixes in BBL history with 181. Current captain, Jimmy Peirson, former Australian internationals Ben Cutting and Joe Burns are the other notable run scorers for the franchise, all scoring more than 1,200 runs but pale in comparison to Lynn.

Ben Cutting has not only been one the franchises most successful batsmen but has also done it for them with the ball, taking the second most wickets for the Heat with 66 from 82 matches. Behind Cutting is Leg-spinner and current Australian international Mitchell Swepson with 53 wickets. Whilst current fast bowler Mark Steketee is the Heats most successful bowler, taking 78 wickets in 61 matches.

Check out our cricket betting predictions for up to date betting tips as the tournament unfolds

IPL Betting:
If you're betting on this years IPL , we have a full list of IPL betting sites with Great IPL Offers to reward players who sign up and bet though this site. We also feature Free IPL Betting Tips in our tips feed with associated sign up offers. So if you're looking for opportunities to place risk free bets on the 2024 IPL, the claim now links around the site give you access to all the new customer Claim Offers thanks to our partner betting brands.

© Copyright 2024 Cricket Bet India
Cricket Bet India


Cricket Bet India

Free Bets 15

Cricket Bet India

Tips New

Cricket Bet India

IPL Betting