ICC – World Test Championship

World Test Championship – What You Need To Know

The ICC World Test Championship is a relatively new competition which has been established to make international Test Match cricket more competitive. The leading cricket nations compete against each other over a two-year period and they are ranked in a league table according to overall performance. The ICC have long made it their target to have a uniform style of competition that can be adopted when it comes to Test Match, One Day International and Twenty20 format. In October 2017, things started to come to fruition when there was an announcement that the leading nine cricket nations would play in a championship. The leading two teams in the standings would then go through to a World Test League Championship Final. As you might expect, there is the opportunity to bet on all the Test Series’ that comprise this competition and this includes events such as The Ashes.

The History of the World Test Championship

The World Test Championship is a recent innovation and the first competition took place between 2019 and 2021. To kick things off, the First Test of the 2019 Ashes Series was the opening match of the tournament, while the final was played between India and New Zealand at the Rose Bowl in Southampton. Nine of the twelve Test playing nations were involved in the competition, with each country facing six of the available eight opponents. A series between any two sides could be as few as two matches and as many as five matches, with each nation having three Test series at home and three on their travels. There was a maximum of 120 points up for grabs when it came to each series, with the two teams who amassed the most points going through to a final which would be played in a neutral venue organised by the ICC.

The World Test Championship Teams

Australia Australia are one of the most famous cricket nations and they have enjoyed Test accreditation since 1877. They have been a member of ICC since 1909 and this team enjoy the most famous rivalry in cricket when they clash with England in The Ashes. Bangladesh Bangladesh are known as the Tigers or Bangla Tigers and they are a more recent Test competitor. Having achieved associate member status in 1977, they became a Full Member in 2000 and they will hope to improve on their ninth placed finish in the 2019-2021 World Test Championship. England The England cricket team have a long and proud history, with this nation one of the first two countries to play a Test Match when they clashed with Australia in 1877. In addition to South Africa, these nations also helped form the Imperial Cricket Conference, with England having played over 1,000 Test Matches. India India have been a fearsome Test Match cricket nation for several decades and they have regularly achieved number one ranked status throughout their history. They have been operating in Tests since 1931 and they were runners-up in the inaugural ICC World Test Championship. New Zealand New Zealand have enjoyed plenty of success throughout their Test Match history, with the team acquiring Test status in 1930 and their first ever match was against England in Christchurch. They have played in nearly 500 matches and won the World Test Championship in 2021. Pakistan Pakistan achieved full member status in 1952, with this nation playing their first Test against India in Delhi, with this taking place in October of that year. They finished in sixth place when competing in the 2019-2021 World Test Championship. South Africa South Africa are one of the longest-standing Test teams, with the Proteas having formed a triumvirate with England and Australia in the 19th century. They played their first ever Test against the former in Port Elizabeth, with the team finishing fifth between 2019-2021. Sri Lanka Sri Lanka are a proud Test nation who have had international Test status since 1981. They made their Test Match debut when clashing against England in Colombo in February 1982, with the team finishing seventh in the first competition. West Indies The West Indies are also known as the Windies and they’ve been in operation since 1926. They played their first ever Test Match between 23-26 June 1928 when meeting England at Lord’s, with the West Indies having won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2004.
Best IPL Betting Sites
100% Up To ₹30,000
Up To ₹4,000 in Bet Credits
₹10,000 Bonus
Free Bonus Up to ₹4,000
170% Bonus Up To ₹16,000
Top Welcome Offers

Up To ₹4,000 in Bet Credits


100% Bonus up to ₹37,000


200% Bonus up to ₹20,000


100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


100% Bonus up to ₹17,000


100% Bonus up to ₹8,000


100% Bonus up to ₹8,000

ShangriLa Betting

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000

Casumo Sports

100% Bonus up to ₹10,000


Matched Bonus up to ₹6000

© Copyright 2022 Cricket Bet India