PSL – Pakistan Super League

Pakistan Super League – What You Need To Know

The Pakistan Super League (PSL) has been in operation since 2016. It’s a Twenty20 cricket competition which involves six teams competing against each other. The PSL takes place on an annual basis and runs for roughly a month, with the competition tending to start in late January and finishing in late February.

The format of the Pakistan Super League is double round robin and then play-offs. The six teams represent the cities of Pakistan, with this being one of the most popular T20 cricket betting competitions in the world and it attracts a big global audience.

The top cricket bookmakers will offer a wide range of Pakistan Super League betting odds and that means there is the opportunity to bet either pre-match or In-Play when it comes to each game.

There are a number of different approaches that a customer might take. They can bet on the outright market which means predicting the champion of each Pakistan Super League tournament. Alternatively, you can bet on a match-by-match basis and find the betting market and odds which you like best.

The History of the Pakistan Super League

Islamabad United won the first ever Pakistan Super League in 2016 when beating the Quetta Gladiators in the final by six wickets. There were only five teams involved that year and the same applied in 2017 when Peshawar Zalmi were the winners of the Super League when defeating Quetta Gladiators.

In 2018, the Pakistan Super League saw the competition extended to six city teams, with 2017 champions Peshawar Zalmi actually reaching the final that year and they would also reach the final of the 2019 and 2021 tournament. However, on all three occasions they were unable to add to their 2017 crown.

Islamabad United won their second PSL title when triumphing in 2018 and Quetta Gladiators were able to make it third time lucky in the final when winning in 2019 after previously being losing finalists on two occasions. A year later and Karachi Kings were able to break their duck and claim the 2020 Pakistan Super League title.

In 2021, the Multan Sultans were able to triumph in the final when beating Peshawar Zalmi, while Lahore Qalandars were successful against the Multan Sultans a year later.

The Teams

Islamabad United

Islamabad United play in Islamabad in the Capital Territory and this team play their home matches at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium in Islamabad. They are one of the founder members of the Pakistan Super League in 2015 and this team have recorded two PSL wins in 2016 and 2018.

Karachi Kings

Karachi Kings play in the province of Sindh and they are owned by the ARY Group. Having been established in 2015, they were able to record a maiden victory in 2020 and they play their home matches at the National Stadium.

Lahore Qalandars

Qatar Lubricants Company are the owners of the Lahore Qalandars and they play their cricket matches in Lahore which is part of Punjab. Their home matches take place at the Gaddafi Stadium, with the cricket team having been founded in 2015 and their first ever win happened in 2022.

Multan Sultans

The Multan Sultans are the newest member of the Pakistan Super League. They were originally founded in 2017 and experienced a few glitches with registration which meant that they then relaunched in 2018. They operate at the Multan Cricket Stadium and they are currently owned by Alamgir Khan Tareen.

Peshawar Zalmi

Peshawar Zalmi play their cricket in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, with the Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawar playing host to their home matches in the Pakistan Super League. The team play in a yellow kit and they are nicknamed the Yellow Storm, with their solitary PSL triumph coming in 2017.

Quetta Gladiators

The Bugti Stadium in Quetta plays host to the matches involving the Gladiators, with the Purple Force playing their cricket in a distinctive purple kit. They have won one Pakistan Super League title in 2019 and they play their cricket at the Bugti Stadium.

PSL Winners

2016 – Islamabad United

2017 – Peshawar Zalmi

2018 – Islamabad United

2019 – Quetta Gladiators

2020 – Karachi Kings

2021 – Multan Sulatans

2022 – Lahore Qalandars


Batting Records

Most Runs – Babar Azam – 2413 – Islamabad United/ Karachi Kings/ Peshawar Zalmi

Highest Individual Score – Colin Ingram – 127* v Quetta Gladiators (2019) – Karachi Kings 

Highest Partnership – Babar Azam & Sharjeel Khan – 176 v Islamabad United – Karachi Kings

Most Sixers – Kamran Akmal – 86 – Peshawar Zalmi

Bowling Records

Most Wickets – Wahab Riaz – 103 – Peshawar Zalmi – 2016-2022

Best Bowling Figures – Ravi Bopara – 6/16 v Lahore Qalandars (2016) – Karachi Kings

Fielding Records 

Most Dismissals (wicketkeeper) – Kamran Akmal – 60 – Peshawar Zalmi

Most Catches (fielder) – Mohammad Nawaz – 32 – Quetta Gladiators

Team Records

Highest Total – Islamabad United – 247/2 (20) v Peshawar Zalmi – 2021

Lowest Total –Lahore Qalandars – 59 all out (11) v Peshawar Zalmi – 2017

IPL Betting:
If you're betting on this years IPL , we have a full list of IPL betting sites with Great IPL Offers to reward players who sign up and bet though this site. We also feature Free IPL Betting Tips in our tips feed with associated sign up offers. So if you're looking for opportunities to place risk free bets on the 2024 IPL, the claim now links around the site give you access to all the new customer Claim Offers thanks to our partner betting brands.

© Copyright 2024 Cricket Bet India
Cricket Bet India


Cricket Bet India

Free Bets 15

Cricket Bet India

Tips New

Cricket Bet India

IPL Betting