Mumbai Indians

Team: Mumbai Indians
City: Mumbai, Maharashtra
Ground: Wankhede Stadium
IPL Debut: 2008
Number of IPL Titles: 5

Who Are the Mumbai Indians?

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League having won five titles to date. They are also one of the eight franchises who are playing in the IPL since the inaugural edition in 2008. They have a very big fanbase and are one of the most popular franchises in the IPL.

Reliance Industries, India’s biggest conglomerate, owns the Mumbai Indians through its 100% subsidiary IndiaWin Sports. The Mumbai Indians also became the first IPL franchise to cross the $100 million mark in brand value in 2017. They play their home matches at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, the venue that hosted the 2011 World Cup final that India won.

The Mumbai Indians have had a large fan following ever since the inaugural edition, mainly due to the legendary Sachin Tendulkar’s association with them. Tendulkar played for a long time for them and is now associated with the franchise as their mentor. Legendary former Sri Lankan batter Mahela Jayawardene is their head coach as well.

The IPL History of the Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League having won five titles so far. They have won all their titles under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, who is the current Indian Team captain as well. Mumbai Indians won the title for the first time in 2013 and then went on to win four more titles in 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. Apart from this, they have made it to the playoffs three more times and were the Runners-Up once in 2010 as well.

Mumbai had tasted success in the Champions League T20 as well. They won the tournament for the first time in 2011 and repeated the feat again in 2013, the same year they won their first IPL title. Rohit Sharma is their longest serving captain to date and he has created quite a legacy with the Mumbai Indians.

Who Holds the Mumbai Indians Records?

Rohit Sharma is the highest run-scorer for the Mumbai Indians to date with 4555 runs to his name at an average of 30.57. That includes a century and 32 fifties as well. Kieron Pollard is second in the list of highest run-scorers for Mumbai Indians with 3364 runs at an average of 29.25.

Ambati Rayudu, who plays for Chennai Super Kings now, also scored 2416 runs during his seven year stint with the club and is third in the list. It has been eight years since Sachin Tendulkar retired from the format but he is still there at fourth in the list with 2334 runs to his name. As far as the record for the highest individual score goes, Rohit Sharma is again at the top with an innings of 109* to his name.

As far as the bowling records go, legendary former Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga tops the charts with 170 wickets at 19.79 runs a piece. Jasprit Bumrah, the leader of Mumbai Indians’ current bowling attack, is second in the list with 134 wickets to his name at 23.83 runs apiece.

Harbhajan Singh and Mitchell McClenaghan are there at third and fourth with 127 and 71 wickets to their names respectively. Kieron Pollard features in this list as well with 66 wickets. As far as the record for the best bowling figures go, it is again held by Malinga. He registered figures of 5/13 against Delhi Daredevils in 2011.

Best IPL Betting Sites

170% Bonus Up To ₹16,000

100% Up To ₹30,000

Up To ₹4,000 in Bet Credits

₹10,000 Bonus

Free Bonus Up to ₹4,000

Top Welcome Offers

Matched Bonus up to ₹6000


Up To ₹4,000 in Bet Credits


100% Bonus up to ₹17,000


100% Bonus up to ₹8,000


100% Bonus up to ₹8,000


100% Bonus up to ₹37,000

ShangriLa Betting

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


200% Bonus up to ₹20,000

Casumo Sports

100% Bonus up to ₹10,000


100% Bonus up to ₹20,000

© Copyright 2022 Cricket Bet India