Kolkata Knight Riders


Team: Kolkata Knight Riders
City: Kolkata, West Bengal
Ground: Eden Gardens
IPL Debut: 2008
Number of IPL Titles: 2

Who Are the Kolkata Knight Riders?

Kolkata Knight Riders is a prominent franchise cricket team that represents the city of Kolkata in the Indian Premier League. KKR is one of the most successful outfits in the cash-rich league with 2 IPL titles to their name. 

One of the big reasons behind Kolkata Knight Riders’ huge fan following is the fact that the franchise is owned by the biggest superstar of Bollywood i.e., Shah Rukh Khan, along with actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta.

It is pertinent to mention that Kolkata Knight Riders is the fourth-most valuable team in the Indian Premier League behind the likes of CSK, RCB and MI. It boasts of a valuation of $122 million. 

Success in 2012 and 2014

In its IPL history, Kolkata Knight Riders have lifted the Indian Premier League trophy twice in 2012 and 2014, both under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir. 

Bettors have moved away from the KKR in the IPL outright betting markets due to their lack of winning titles in recent years. There is more more interest in the Riders in the match betting and live betting IPL markets.

The IPL History of Kolkata Knight Riders

Kolkata Knight Riders lit up Indian Premier League in the very first game of the inaugural season, thanks to a sensational knock from Brendon McCullum. In the very first match of the inaugural season, Brendon McCullum played a heart-warming knock of 158 runs and the rest is history. 

However, KKR’s overall season didn’t inspire any confidence. They finished the season at number sixth spot, winning only 6 matches out of 14. 

They didn’t improve the following season, finishing at the bottom in 2009. Following disappointing run in the first few years, KKR’s fortunes changed when they roped in Gautam Gambhir in the 2011 IPL auction. 

New leadership in 2011

Gambhir took over leadership duties in the 2011 IPL season and took the team to the playoffs for the first time in the league. The franchise dished out improved performances next season and went on to seal their maiden final appearance in IPL 2012. 

Gautam Gambhir-led KKR beat Chennai Super Kings in the IPL 2012 final to be crowned as champions for the first time ever. Gambhir had the hunger to achieve more and with him at the helm of affairs, KKR went on to win their second IPL title in 2014. 

Following the 2014 season, KKR have managed to reach the playoffs on four occasions and were also runners up in the 2021 season. However, the search for their third title in the tournament still goes on.  

Who Holds the Kolkata Knight Riders Records?

Gautam Gambhir is the leading run-getter for the Kolkata Knight Riders in the IPL history. In 109 matches played for the franchise, Gambhir has scored 3035 runs. 

Brendon McCullum holds the record for notching the highest score by a KKR player in Indian Premier League. He smashed 154 against RCB in April 2008. 

Andre Russell boast of having the best strike rate of 176.61 for the franchise in the Indian Premier League. 

Gautam Gambhir also holds the record for having the most number of half-centuries (27) for KKR in the Indian Premier League. 

Andre Russell has hit 139 sixes for the Kolkata Knight Riders, which is the most by any player for the franchise in the Indian Premier League. 

Brendon McCullum has the record for hitting the most sixes in an innings for KKR in IPL. During his 154-run knock against RCB, the Kiwi batter smashed 13 sixes. 

Robin Uthappa owns the record for scoring the most runs in a single season of IPL. He scored 660 runs for KKR in the 2014 edition of IPL. 

Gautam Gambhir also holds the unwanted record of having the most number of ducks (10) for KKR in the Indian Premier League. 

Check out our free ipl tips feed for up to date IPL betting predictions as the tournament unfolds. Find the best IPL betting sites offering plenty of free bets and welcome bonuses in advance of the 2024 IPL tournament.

IPL Betting Sites

Parimatch Welcome Offer

150% Bonus Up To ₹20,000

10CRIC Welcome Offer

150% Bonus up ₹32,000

Megapari Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹17,000

Bettilt Welcome Offer

Monster ₹44,000 Welcome Package

BetWinner Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹8,000

22Bet Welcome Offer

₹10,000 Bonus

Melbet Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000

4raBet Welcome Offer

600% Bonus up to ₹60,000

More IPL Betting: If you're betting on this years IPL , we have a full list of IPL betting sites with Great IPL Offers to reward players who sign up and bet though this site. We also feature Free IPL Betting Tips in our tips feed with associated sign up offers. So if you're looking for opportunities to place risk free bets on the 2024 IPL, the claim now links around the site give you access to all the new customer Claim Offers thanks to our partner betting brands.

© Copyright 2024 Cricket Bet India


Free Bets 15

Tips New

IPL Betting