India T20

India in T20 Internationals

India has always been one of the powerhouses in T20 cricket. They won the inaugural edition of the T20 World Cup in 2007 and showed the world the potential it has in this format. 

Although India has not been able to add to their tally of T20 World Cup titles since then, they have made it to the knockout stages on numerous occasions. It shows how they have been one of the best teams in this format in the last decade and a half.

India’s History in T20 Internationals 

India has played a total of 159 T20 internationals to date and has won 101 out of them while losing 51. Three more matches have resulted in ties, with one match yielding no result at all. Moreover, India also has a win-loss ratio of 1.980 — the second best among the top 10 teams in the ICC rankings.

As far as their run in the T20 World Cups go, they created history by winning the first ever tournament back in 2007. They beat arch-rivals Pakistan in the final to lift the trophy. Gautam Gambhir was adjudged the Player of the Match for his superb 54-ball knock of 75 whereas Yuvraj Singh was adjudged the Player of the Series for his match-winning contributions throughout the tournament. 

India haven’t managed to win the mega event since then but they did finish as runners-up in the 2014 edition. They were one of the semifinalists in the 2016 T20 World Cup as well. However, things didn’t go according to their plans in the 2021 edition as they made a group stage exit. But they have a very strong squad and will be looking to bounce back with a commanding performance in the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia. 

The Indian team recorded their highest total of 260/5 against Sri Lanka in Indore in 2017. It was the same game where Rohit Sharma played a breathtaking knock of 118 off just 43 deliveries. Sri Lanka were bundled out for only 172 in response. Talking about their lowest total in the format, it came against Australia in Melbourne as India were bowled out for a paltry 74.

Who Holds the India T20 International Records?

Rohit Sharma is the highest run-scorer for India in T20Is with 3313 runs to his name at an excellent average and strike-rate of 32.48 and 139.55 respectively. He has four hundreds to his name as well, the joint most among all players in the format. His innings of 118 against Sri Lanka in T20Is is also the highest score by an Indian player in the format. 

Next in the list of most runs for India is Virat Kohli, who has amassed 3296 runs at an outstanding average of 51.50. KL Rahul is third in the list but there is a wide gap between him and the top two. Rahul has 1831 runs in 56 matches at an average of 40.68.

In terms of bowling, wrist-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal leads the wicket-taking charts with 68 wickets at an average of 25.33. He has two four-wicket hauls and a six-wicket haul to his name as well in T20Is. His best figures of 6/25 against England in 2017 is also the second best bowling figures ever recorded by an Indian bowler in the format. 

Jasprit Bumrah and Ravichandran Ashwin are next in the list of most wickets taken by Indian bowlers in T20Is and they aren’t that far away. Bumrah has 67 wickets at 19.89 runs a piece in 57 matches whereas Ashwin has picked up 61 wickets in 51 matches at an average of 21.27.

IPL Betting Sites

Parimatch Welcome Offer

150% Bonus Up To ₹20,000

10CRIC Welcome Offer

150% Bonus up ₹32,000

Megapari Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹17,000

Bettilt Welcome Offer

Monster ₹44,000 Welcome Package

BetWinner Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹8,000

22Bet Welcome Offer

₹10,000 Bonus

Melbet Welcome Offer

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000

4raBet Welcome Offer

600% Bonus up to ₹60,000

More IPL Betting: If you're betting on this years IPL , we have a full list of IPL betting sites with Great IPL Offers to reward players who sign up and bet though this site. We also feature Free IPL Betting Tips in our tips feed with associated sign up offers. So if you're looking for opportunities to place risk free bets on the 2024 IPL, the claim now links around the site give you access to all the new customer Claim Offers thanks to our partner betting brands.

© Copyright 2024 Cricket Bet India


Free Bets 15

Tips New

IPL Betting