ICC T20 World Cup

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

The T20 World Cup is an international cricket tournament that takes place every two years. The leading Twenty20 cricket nations compete against each other, with the first competition having been held in 2007 and there are sixteen teams who are currently in action against each other when the action comes around.

From 2024 onwards, there will be twenty-four countries who are battling it out, with the tournament format starting with a preliminary round before we go into a Super 12 and then the play-offs to determine the overall winner.

The History of the T20 World Cup

The first edition of the T20 World Cup took place in 2007. South Africa were the host nation and twelve teams lined up to compete, with India and Pakistan the sides that made it through to the Johannesburg final. On that occasion, it was India who were able to land a victory by five runs to become the first ever winner of the Twenty20 World Cup.

Two years later, it was England’s turn to host the 2009 Twenty20 World Cup, with the final being staged at Lord’s. Once again, Pakistan were able to reach the final and this time they were crowned champions when defeating Sri Lanka by a sum total of eight wickets.

We had two completely different finalists two years later when West Indies had the honour of hosting the 2010 T20 World Cup. England were able to propel themselves into the final of this twelve-team tournament and they clashed with old adversaries Australia. In the end, the former managed to achieve a commanding seven-wicket victory to get over the line.

The last T20 World Cup to feature only twelve teams in the finals was the 2012 renewal and this was held in Sri Lanka. Previous hosts West Indies were able to navigate their way through the business end of the competition and actually ended up meeting a host nation who crumbled under the weight of expectation in the final. They were all out for 101 and lost by thirty-six runs as a result.

In 2014, we had an expanded tournament to accommodate sixteen teams and it was Bangladesh who hosted the competition. The Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka staged the final which saw Sri Lanka reach their third Twenty20 World Cup final and this time they were finally victorious when beating India by six wickets.

The T20 World Cup was held in India for the first time in 2016 although the hosts fell short in front of their own fans and it was West Indies and England that ended up in an exciting final. The former were able to reclaim their crown after enjoying a four-wicket triumph in Kolkata.

The more recent staging of the T20 World Cup took place in UAE and Oman in 2021, with COVID-19 having led to the competition being postponed until that year, although there was no staging of the 2018 World Cup due to various fixture scheduling. 

Australia were able to claim victory at the Dubai International Stadium and they beat New Zealand fairly comfortably by an eight-wicket margin. The Aussies would go on to host the 2022 tournament and it will be the final World Cup before the number of teams are expanded to twenty.

Best IPL Betting Sites

170% Bonus Up To ₹16,000

100% Up To ₹30,000

Up To ₹4,000 in Bet Credits

₹10,000 Bonus

Free Bonus Up to ₹4,000

Top Welcome Offers

Matched Bonus up to ₹6000


Up To ₹4,000 in Bet Credits


100% Bonus up to ₹17,000


100% Bonus up to ₹8,000


100% Bonus up to ₹8,000


100% Bonus up to ₹37,000

ShangriLa Betting

100% Bonus up to ₹20,000


200% Bonus up to ₹20,000

Casumo Sports

100% Bonus up to ₹10,000


100% Bonus up to ₹20,000

© Copyright 2022 Cricket Bet India