Cricket Betting News

Bringing you all the latest breaking Indian and international cricket betting news and stories.

Cricket Betting News

R Ashwin returns as India announce squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

India on Wednesday announced their squad for the ICC T20 World Cup starting next month in the UAE and Oman. The squad was pretty much along the expected lines but there were a couple of surprises. 

Ravichandran Ashwin, who last featured in a T20I for India in 2017, got recalled into the side on the back of a good showing in the Indian Premier League in the last three seasons. Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav also retained their positions after bursting on to the international scene earlier this year.

Mystery Spinner Varun Chakravarthy and wrist-spinner Rahul Chahar also found their place in the 15-man squad. However, Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav were completely left out of the squad and so was veteran batsman Shikhar Dhawan. 

Also ReadVictory after 50 years: A look at the architects of India’s win at The Oval

Chahal and Kuldeep have been out of form for the last couple of years. Moreover, batters have picked both bowlers now and it has become easier to play them. That was summed up by how expensive they had been in the last few matches, without much wicket-taking threat.


Left-arm spinner Axar Patel has also been added to the squad after his impressive performance in the UAE during the last IPL season.

In total, India have gone with five spinners and only three pacers — Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami — looking at the conditions that might come into play in the UAE. The dry nature of the decks and the large boundaries are expected to assist the spinners more than the pacers.

India have named Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar and Shreyas Iyer as standby players. Moreover, MS Dhoni will also travel with the squad to the UAE as he has been named as the mentor of the side for the high-profile tournament.


India’s Squad for ICC T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli (Capt), Rohit Sharma (vc), KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Rahul Chahar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohd Shami.

Standby: Shreyas Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Best Betting Sites

Bet365 Logo


Up To ₹4,000
in Bet Credits

Dafabet Cricket Welcome Bonus


Deposit Bonus
Up to ₹16,000

10CRIC Betting Logo


₹10,000 Bonus

Betway Logo


Free Bonus
Up to ₹ 2,500

22Bet Logo


Welcome Bonus

View All

Best Betting Offers

Dafabet Cricket Welcome Bonus


170% Welcome
Deposit Bonus

Betway Sports Logo White


Get a ₹250
Free Bet

10 Cric Betting Logo


Free Bet

Bet365 Cricket Logo


Opening Offer
Up to ₹4,000

22Bet logo


₹10,000 Bonus Deposit Match

View All